….Hair type. Distinguishing between 4A and 4B hair….

Hello everybody. Today I am feeling so good. My affirmation today is

“I give a portion of my time to helping others. It is good for my health”

And in that spirit, today I am going to discuss the textures of 4a and 4b hair. What texture do I have? This is a common question and one I had myself when I first began my natural hair journey.

How to tell if you are 4A or 4B: Many 4′s are a combination of both. However you can tell by testing your new growth. Is it obvious waves of hair that stay that way when you stretch your hair out? If so, you are most likely 4A. If not, and if your waves seem to get straighter or disappear, then you are most likely 4B.

Another no-fail test is the wash test. After washing and detangling, are you left with clumps of curls or more of an afro with less definition. 4A hair clumps and curls when wet, 4B hair does not.

The longer 4B hair gets, the straighter it gets. With length, unlike 4A hair, the mini curls and z’s start to disappear. 4B’s have to be careful when texlaxing/texturinzing because 4B hair can be mostly zigzags of hair, and not actual strong curls, it is easy to end up with straight hair.

4a hair is also known as “grease and water” hair if you are familiar with the term. It’s hair that will go from looking 4b to curling up with grease and water – showcasing it’s true texture.

4b hair can sometimes mimic curls and sometimes not, or at least does not LOOK like it curls because they are so small. Some 4b’s say that their hair does not even have small curls and that their hair is more of a “z” shape v.s. the 4a “s” shape.

There is a debate among naturals that 4b hair has curls (“s” shape), while others say it does not (“z” shape). In the end, whether it has curls or not does not matter

Once you know what your hair texture is and what works for it is all that matters most as well as learning how to care for it so that it is healthy and vibrant. You can’t treat 4b hair like 3a hair, so proceed with your hair care accordingly.

Finding a hair twin that can relate to your woes can also make the process of learning to care for your natural hair go a lot smoothly. I have 4b hair all round the edges but 4a hair in the middle of my scalp

I have recently started using suave naturals tropical coconut shampoo and conditioner. (As pictured) On the container, it says it is infused with coconut extract and vitamin E. I was very happy to find these products because they were only a dollar each. And so far they are working just fine. I co wash every day and shampoo once a week.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. INY
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 18:15:00

    I have the same. I have a twa so far (bc’d 3wks ago). I’m 4a perimeter and 4b middle. YOU are my hair twin.

    Reply

  2. CWright
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 15:57:28

    this explanation helped me a lot. I have been going natural for almost 9 months and my hair is definately curly all over. Different curls in the front than at the nape of my head. The front is definately 4A and I thought the rest was 4b because of how it looks when it’s wet…however after reading your comments about “grease and water”..lol I think my whole head is 4a…thanks. It definately responds and curls up when I use a homemade shea butter mixture on it when wet or dry. When slicked back for a high bun I have a hard time brushing out the wavy pattern. I think I get it now. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Nova
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 23:26:58

    I’m a type 4a, but my hair doesn’t look like the picture included. Some 4a heads clump better than other 4a. For example every 4a is not like naptural85’s 4a.

    I suppose that this is due to a variety of factors – hair strand diameter and overall density, etc. In the past my coils didn’t clump as easily as they do now, so the products and regimen make a difference too.

    Also the same can be said for 4b hair. It doesn’t all look or behave in the same way just because the curl diameter/coil pattern is the same.

    I think that it’s a trap to expect all of our hair to look the same even if we have the same hair type. Our hair has way more variety than that. The hair typing system is a guide, not an exact science.

    Reply

  4. Lashon Sullivan
    Dec 06, 2016 @ 19:34:57

    When my hair is long it has more of a S shape curl.. 4a type.. but when it is short it is fluffy and has smaller curls.. 4b type.. so I have a combination of the two…

    Reply

  5. Dorsey
    Feb 23, 2021 @ 13:12:30

    So many people have no knowledge of the fact that fast hair growth shampoos (of course without any sulfates, parabens or DEA) are even a thing. Folks now may achieve longer hair and have more options. For sure worth exploring.

    When you’re discussing alopecia, damaged hair, avoiding scalp disorders, hair growth, hair and scalp care normally, the same principles apply.

    In general, you should try to stay away from hair products and treatments that contain chemicals such as parabens, DEA or sulfates.

    What’s healthy for your hair is good for your skin as well.

    Clearly your content above is so useful for many reasons. It avoids the accustomed traps and pitfalls too many fall into: getting horrible alternatives. Keep up the great content!

    Reply

Leave a comment